Ministry of Education

From Hull AWE
(Redirected from DfES)
Jump to: navigation, search

In the United Kingdom, there is no government body with the title of Ministry of Education, though many countries have bodies with [translations of] that title. The constituent countries of the United Kingdom have their own Departments of Education: in Scotland, the Education and Lifelong Learning Directorate; in Wales, the Department for Education, Lifelong Learning, and Skills (DELLS); and in Northern Ireland, the Department of Education (Northern Ireland) and the Department for Employment and Learning. The bodies which carry out the function of a Ministry of Education in England have changed over the years. Since 1945, these are:

Currently (since 2010)

The Department for Education (DfE) is responsible for child protection, education (compulsory, further and higher education), apprenticeships and wider skills in England.

(from 2007 to 2010)
  • The DIUS, or Department of Innovation, Universities and skills, under the Secretary of State for Innovation, Universities and Skills (member of the Cabinet). The field of its activities that is probably of most importance to the users of AWE is that of education: it deals with Higher and Further Education. It also deals with innovation and evidence-based policy in government, and science and research in industry and government. This latter was previously the responsibility of the DTI (Department of Trade and Industry), as the remit for tertiary education was previously the responsibility of the Department for Education and Skills. (The DIUS says that it is responsible for "all post-19 learning" (<ref></ref>).
  • The DCSF, or Department for Children, Schools and Families, under the Secretary of State for Children, Schools and Families, who also sits in the Cabinet. Its website says "It is responsible for all issues affecting people up to the age of 19 including education." It deals with all primary and secondary schools in the UK, as well as the Local Authorities that supervise them.
From 2001 to 2007
  • All levels of education, including adult learning, were administered by the Department for Education and Skills or DfES (note the lower case 'f' between the upper case 'D', 'E' and 'S'). It was responsible for children's services, including child welfare. The head of the Department wa the Secretary of State for Education and Skills.
From 1995 to 2001
  • The Department for Education and Employment, or DfEE, continued to be responsible for all levels of education, as well as the functions that it took over by being amalgamated with the former Department of Employment.
From 1992 to 1995
  • Education was the single responsibility of the Department of Education. Responsibility for Science was transferred to the Department of Trade and Industry and the Cabinet Office.
From 1964 to 1995
  • Harold Wilson, Prime Minister at the time, merged the Ministries of Education and of Science to form the Department of Education and Science, the DES.
Before 1964
  • The relevant department of government was the Ministry of Education.