From Hull AWE
Jump to: navigation, search

The word rupiah - the name of the unit of money in Indonesia - is pronounced 'roo-PEE-ah', IPA: /ru ˈpiː ə/.

Etymological note: the Rupiah is the same word as 'rupee' - both are derived from the Sanscrit rūpya, meaning 'worked [metal]', with various cognates in Portuguese, Malay and Indonesian, as well as English.